My Boyfriend Had Dinner With His Ex!


I give advice to a woman who is angry and hurt by her boyfriend’s choice of who he takes to dinner.

Question:

My boyfriend had dinner with his ex without me!Is it appropriate for my new boyfriend to have dinner with his ex-girlfriend when I am out of town? It is a fairly new relationship but it’s a committed one now. He says he didn’t do anything wrong so I shouldn’t have a problem with it. What do I do?

Yes, it is absolutely wrong; especially if he knows this bothers you. It sounds like this guy might be trying to test the waters in order to see what he can get away with. I don’t care if he was honest in telling you that he went to dinner with her or not. I would say this guy is bad news. Exes are exes for a reason. The last thing somebody wants to do in a new committed relationship is hang out with their ex. Not only did he have dinner with a female; but an ex-female. I would seriously investigate this, and also tell your boyfriend he can’t hang out with her anymore; even for an “innocent” dinner date. If anything you should be glad this happened in the beginning of the relationship so it will be easier to get over him.

Swat away those butterflies and listen to your gut. Remember: if it walks like a duck, and looks like a duck, it is usually a…..

If he is already acting like this in the begging of the relationship, then you can only look forward to a hot mess in the future.

It wasn't me!Image via Wikipedia
“it wasn’t me!”

The begging of a serious relationship is usually close to problem free. Maybe the universe is doing you a favor by showing you who this guy really is, before you continue the relationship. I know it really hurts that he did this to you.

I would even maybe, consider working it out with him if he admitted what he did was completely wrong. The fact that he is trying to convince you to believe his pathetic reasoning about the situation reflects his character.
Let’s pretend for a second that your boyfriend and his ex had a purely platonic dinner at her house. The fact that he refuses to recognize what he did was wrong is more questionable then if he cheated.
Overall, this is too big of a mess way to early.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Please Leave A Comment.

